About ACQS

The primary mission of the American Council for Québec Studies (ACQS) is to promote the teaching and study of Québec, Francophone Canada, and Franco-America. It encourages research, fosters collaborations among researchers in the U.S. and Canada, and facilitates programs, visits, and academic exchanges. ACQS organizes biennial conferences that attract over 200 participants, as well as writers and government officials.

ACQS was organized in 1979 as the Northeast Council for Québec Studies by a group of professors primarily interested in Québec literature, history, and politics. Responding to the expanding geographical distribution of the membership, as well as to the growing diversity of scholarly interests, the organization changed its name to the American Council for Québec Studies in 1984. Today, ACQS continues to be the largest and most prominent national Québec Studies organization dedicated to a better understanding of North American francophone society.

Since its beginnings, ACQS has benefited from the support of the Government of Québec.

In 2005, ACQS was honored by the Conseil supérieur de la langue française with the Prix du 3-juillet-1608 for its exceptional service to the French-language community of North America.

Past Presidents :

Edwin Hamblet, 1981-1982
André Sénécal, 1983-1984
Jeanne Kissner, 1985-1986
Robert Schwartzwald, 1987-1990
Robert Gill, 1990-1992
Jane Moss, 1992-1995
Richard Beach, 1995-1997
Emile Talbot, 1997-1999
Robert Whelan, 1999-2001
Roseanna L. Dufault, 2001-2003
Kevin Christiano, 2003-2005
Raymond Pelletier, 2005-2007
Juliette Rogers, 2007-2009
David Massell, 2009-2011
Amy Reid, 2011-2013
Leslie Choquette, 2013-2015
Sam Fisher, 2015-2017
Charles Batson, 2017-2023
Katharine Harrington, 2024-2025